The 81st Academy Awards and more…

81st Academy Awards Poster

Has everyone seen the Oscars live this morning? I happened to watch only the first half of its live telecast and sure missed a lot of the awarding of the most anticipated categories this year. But thanks to KC, a.k.a “Astroboy”, I hadn’t missed one single info on the winners. Hugh Jackman sure have done a great job in the opening performance of the Oscars. Despite not being a natural comedian, he carried his act well by showing his versatility in entertaining people. I’d have to say, he’s pretty good at dancing. I’d give him five stars for a job well done. Who would forget Ben Stiller’s impersonation of the now-fully-bearded Joaquin Phoenix? It was hilarious. However, some of the international viewers, including my younger sister, may not have guessed what the joke was. She even asked me this question, “Who’s that guy?”. It’s unfortunate not everyone got the making-fun-of-Joaquin-Phoenix thing. I would like to congratulate Kate Winslet for winning “Best Actress” in her astounding performance on “The Reader”, she deserved it, and Sean Penn for snagging the “Best Actor Award” from co-rivals. It was clear from the start he would win the said category. It’s hard acting as a gay man if  you’re straight in reality. Unsurprisingly, the movie who took home the most awards in this prestigious ceremony was none other than “Slumdog Millionaire”. I was kind of expecting these results even weeks before the Academy Awards. I’m hoping this movie would be released here in the Philippines. I wouldn’t want to miss seeing an Academy Award-winning film.

While I was reading Yahoo’s featured inside scoop on the Academy Awards, I decided to listen to some music. I searched for some good music saved in my computer’s hard-drive. Then I found Nichole Nordeman’s “Legacy”. I remembered every time I was listening to this song, I gain the awareness of what I live my life for and why I want to leave a legacy in this world. Now I’m asking you, what kind of legacy do you want to leave when you are done with this life? Just listen to this song and let its message have an impact in your life.

Here's the lyrics of the song:

I don't mind if you've got something nice to say about me
And I enjoy an accolade like the rest
You could take my picture and hang it in a gallery
Of all who's who and so-n-so's that used to be the best
And such and such... it wouldn't matter much...

I won't lie, it feels alright to see your name in lights
We all need an 'Atta boy' or 'Atta girl'
But in the end I'd like to hang my hat on more besides
The temporary trappings of this world

I want to leave a legacy
How will they remember me?
Did I choose to love? Did I point to You enough
To make a mark on things?
I want to leave an offering
A child of mercy and grace who
blessed your name unapologetically
And leave that kind of legacy

I don't have to look too far or too long awhile
To make a lengthy list of all that I enjoy
It's an accumulating trinket and a treasure pile
Where moth and rust, thieves and such will soon enough destroy

Not well-traveled, not well-read, not well-to-do or well-bred
Just want to hear instead, "Well done, good and faithful one..."

5 thoughts on “The 81st Academy Awards and more…

  1. Pingback: Bollywood and hollywood - Movie reviews, News, gossip » The 81st Academy Awards and more…

  2. Pingback: Joaquin Phoenix » The 81st Academy Awards and more…

  3. Pingback: Topics about Music » The 81st Academy Awards and more…

  4. Pingback: Pages tagged "decided"

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.