Life Lessons Learned in 24 Days

*Note From Mizepifany: This post was long overdue. It was supposed to be published 2 weeks after the month of October started, and I am very sorry for publishing it late. But it has always been one of my life principles that it’s better late than never. Okay, I think I need to change that principle of mine. Hope this post could somehow enlighten your perspectives and benefit from learning it as much as it had mine.

____________________________________________________________

Before writing this post, I decided to listen to some soothing and relaxing music of Switchfoot.

A quick note on Switchfoot: A Christian Contemporary Rock band based in San Diego, California that has been in the music scene since 1996.ย  What I admire most about this band has got to be their songs coupled with awesome tunes and melodies. Their genre of music is very diverse, and they have evolved album after album producing more intricate sounds and introspective lyrics on everything about living, its issues, its pains, its arguments, and the hope beyond this over-rated controversy we call, “life”.

Back to the topic, I chose to listen to their mellow creation, “24”, one of my favorite songs from Switchfoot. And the lyrics go…

Twenty four oceans
Twenty four skies
Twenty four failures
Twenty four tries
Twenty four finds me
In twenty-fourth place
Twenty four drop outs
At the end of the day
Life is not what I thought it was
Twenty four hours ago

Still I’m singing Spirit take me up in arms with You
And I’m not who I thought I was twenty four hours ago
Still I’m singing Spirit take me up in arms with You

Twenty four reasons to admit that I’m wrong
With all my excuses still twenty four strong

See I’m not copping out not copping out not copping out
When You’re raising the dead in me
Oh, oh I am the second man
Oh, oh I am the second man now
Oh, oh I am the second man now

And You’re raising these twenty four voices
With twenty four hearts
With all of my symphonies
In twenty four parts
But I want to be one today
Centered and true

I’m singing Spirit take me up in arms with You
You’re raising the dead in me
Oh, oh I am the second man
Oh, oh I am the second man now
Oh, oh I am the second man now
And You’re raising the dead in me

I want to see miracles, see the world change
Wrestled the angel, for more than a name
For more than a feeling
For more than a cause
I’m singing Spirit take me up in arms with You
And You’re raising the dead in me
Twenty four voices
With twenty four hearts
With all of my symphonies
In twenty four parts.
I’m not copping out. Not copping out. Not copping out.

Have you noticed the high-lighted line from the song, that one simple line, is my inspiration for this post. My 24-day Journey of Learning and Unlearning, started on Sept. 21, 2009 and ended on Oct. 15, 2009.

1. Advice on friendship: Learn to distinguish who are for long-terms, because they deserve much more value and time, rather than the short-term ones, because when you need someone, the long-terms are the only available ones you can count on.

2. Say goodbye to selfishness and embrace selflessness. It will take you a long way in life, and always remember being selfless is of a wise man’s attributes, and not a fool’s.

3. When everything you see inside is everything you hate, stop looking, and just look at the only hope for change, God. Because unless you set your eyes on a better hope of what you can be, rather than the disappointing figure of the present,ย  it’ll be much easier to accept your weaknesses and turn it into strengths. What you are now is much less important than what you can be in the future.

4. Having a strong hold on anger may cause you to be blind and numb to the love of others. Therefore, a perception of being unwanted and rejected is developed. It’s not that you’re unloved, maybe you’re just rejecting love.

5. Asking for forgiveness, even if you’re not at fault, is one of the most rewarding acts of humility and a stepping stone towards change of a prideful heart.

6. Being stubborn produces serious consequences.

7. When chaos surrounds you and you are at an utter loss, always remember that God is an ever-present help in time of need.

God bless you all.

One more thing, if you’re a graphic designing enthusiast or looking for talented art graphic designers, you might want to check this site out (It’s my friend’s) dejavu-1.deviantart.com. I believe my friend’s very talented and gifted in his craft, all he needs is his art to be discovered ย by the people. So I really hope, you check him out. ๐Ÿ˜‰

6 thoughts on “Life Lessons Learned in 24 Days

  1. ilang taon kna? i checked your FYI it’s not mentioned. nwys, i asked that coz you have deep insights about life. it’s like you have an old soul. very cool.

  2. hi ate sam grabe ngayon lang talaga ulit ako nakabasa ng mga writings mo… well na-amazed talaga ako grabe.. hehe keep it up.. marami talagang mablebless diyan…

    (nasa school pala ako ngayon hehe ^_^

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

